ONVIF Reflects on 2018 Activities in 10th Annual Meeting

November 29, 2018 by ONVIF

For ten years ONVIF has led the pack in interoperability advancements. With the profile concept in place, their mission of creating a common interface for the security industry at large has become increasingly more possible. However, these advancements require active participation in a variety of working groups, ranging from technical details to external communication.

In early November, ONVIF held its 10thannual meeting to highlight the achievements of the organization over the past decade, including an overview of the six ONVIF profiles, with emphasis on the newly released Profile T for advanced video streaming. Collectively, the profiles provide support for more than 10,000 conformant products that are increasingly included in various bid and specification processes in projects around the world.

Since its founding, ONVIF companies have had the opportunity to participate in the development of different specifications. We would like to take this opportunity to thank all those who have contributed to our working groups over the past ten years, and to recognize our recent and most active participants.

One of two 2018 ONVIF Distinguished Service Awards was given to Baldvin Gislason Bern of Axis for his role in developing and proofing the evolution concept as chair of the Technical Services Device Test Tool Evolution. Joining him in receiving this award is Dr. Hasan Timucin Ozdemir of Panasonic, who served as chairman from 2009-2018 of the ONVIF Video Enhancement Working Group, which is responsible for formulating and prototyping new features for the ONVIF specification.

The results of the annual elections for committees of ONVIF were announced by Kevin Schader, ONVIF Executive Director. Re-elected to the ONVIF Steering Committee were Mayur Salgar of Honeywell and Stuart Rawling of Pelco by Schneider Electric. For the Technical Committee, Hanwha Techwin’s Sujith Raman, Pelco by Schneider Electric’s Steve Wolf, and Tyco Security Product’s Stephen Serplus were re-elected, while Hikvision’s Dora Han joined the committee as a new member. Bob Dolan of Anixter and Giri Guntipalli of Honeywell were re-elected to the Technical Services Committee, along with new member Marwan Obeidat of Pelco by Schneider Electric. Tim Shen of Dahua, Jens Berthelsen of Hikvision and Xinming Kang of Honeywell were re-elected to the ONVIF Communication Committee, while Cathy Zhou of Huawei joined the committee as a new member. Founding members Axis, Bosch and Sony automatically retain seats on the Steering, Technical and Technical Services Committees.

Thank you to those re-elected for your continued commitment to ONVIF, and thank you to those newly elected for stepping up to the plate!

Wondering how you can get involved in ONVIF? Check out our FAQ here.

A full press release on the webinar can be found online here.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

2024 ONVIF. All rights reserved.